Choosing which seed to eat

Back to work today. Still working remotely, and even though I was only away for three days (plus the weekend), I had a lot to do. And some left over for tomorrow.

Yesterday I looked for wild bird seed and the nearest was a wild bird Honey Bell. Not being sure that any birds would come to something so very different, I sprinkled some of the seeds and grains from the bread on the bird platform, and hung the bell over it so anything that fell would be eaten. 

About ten green finch came and fought repeatedly with each other over the seed on the platform, ignoring the bell. Then i noticed one working out how to get a grip on it and after a minute or so of examining it, started to winkle out a seed or more. All the while the rest of the flock were scrapping below over scraps.

A post work run along the beaches. Not a lot that was new. Until as I was rounding the promontory before Algies Bay, I recognised a local canyon, which is my extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.