M

For my 1000th blip (how did that happen!), I thought I would blip my favourite garden stone.  It was carved in 2000 by Richard Kindersley as part of a 10 stone series that he made to mark the double millennium.

Each stone is a monolithic piece of Caithness Flagstone and is carved with a quotation from one 200 year period.  This stone is the 5th in the series, it is 3m tall, and has a quote from St Anselm from about 1100:

"For I do not seek to understand in order to believe, but I believe in order to understand.  For I believe this; unless I believe, I will not understand."

As a lapsed Catholic, I have difficulty with the thought.  But that doesn't stop me loving the circling nature of the words and the way they have been carved as a spiral on the hammerhead stone.  There is a detail of the lettering (and the lichen) in the extra.

I first saw this stone as part of the whole series along the waterfront in Greenwich.  It lived in our farm garden in Wiltshire for 16 years and was by far the most difficult thing to bring with us when we moved to Oxfordshire, but now it looks as if it has always been here.

If you are interested in standing stones, here is a link to the original catalogue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.