New reality day 426

Riding into the sunset
the train, not us.

We took the dogs with us for a walk when we went to finally pick up the new stones to our sauna. It was such a huge job just to pick up the old ones. I took 6 buckets out to the garden. 

I have to pick up the stones from the "oven of the sauna" (I have no idea what it's called in English, it's kiuas in Finnish) over a wooden fence, so I'm hanging over the wood and trying to reach the stones one by one. The old ones are even fragile and some break into pieces when trying to remove them. Putting in the new ones is so much easier.

And we picked up some very nice stones for the kiuas. Two buckets as we had some new stones already. And they are the same kind of stone.

I have been reading about how to lay the stones correctly and I have learned they weren't when I took the old ones out. Apparently the way you lay them and how the air travels through the stones and what kind of stones they are will affect the harshness or the softness of the löyly (the steam coming from the kiuas).

Well, we just went to pick up wild rocks :-) I'm not sure if I'm ready to use all my knowledge to have "the perfect sauna experience". I think I'll just go with the regular setup.

I also updated our kitchen cupboards from one size. I bought some plastics the I cut and just added to the surface. It mimics wood, and I think it looks pretty good. You can check it out here:
https://twitter.com/HeidiHHFinland/status/1442471796918427652

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.