Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Intercontinental

(27/9/21)
G took herself to school, and I stayed home and caught up with the ironing! She was home by 11, and we both headed to Festival city in a taxi. We've hired a car to enable the hunt for a new vehicle. I'm so pleased I opted to pick it up at the Intercontinental Hotel rather than the airport. We are so close to this hotel so often, but today was the first time I stepped in. It is grand!

Car secured, we were hungry, so had a quick bite in DFC before we drove to another part of town we don't visit much. This hunt for a car is introducing us to new areas and some very interesting practices. Today's cars were all parked in private car parks. The person who is selling must have an arrangement with the owner. There is just enough space to do a test drive.

Unfortunately, it was now the hottest time of the day, so neither party wanted to be out any longer than necessary. It was enlightening to see prime real estate being used to park miscellaneous vehicles, mainly buses and even a stretched Hummer limo!

G agreed to view one more car before we came home. It was on the other side of town though. The location pin sent was near a cemetery, so I was intrigued as I wasn't aware of any businesses in this area. Well, it turns out that the car was parked in the sand on the side of the road. No office, no portacabin, nothing! I called the man who had listed it and he said to wait until 4 PM. It was 3:10. At my insistence, he organised for someone to bring a key to open the car. The test drive track was, you guessed it, a little bit of road. I would love to know how the authorities view this practice. There is nothing glamorous about shopping for a secondhand car in this city.

Anyway, having seen the third Renault Symbol of the day, we both agreed the second one we saw was the most likely option. Home to a cup of tea and some work! I had to do my three hours coding invoices and G had her lesson in the evening. It's a good thing we had a substantial lunch to keep us going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.