Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Parallel Universe #2

So, after yesterday's craziness driving around in the heat, it was an early start for us both. I dropped G to work and swung by Burj Al Arab beach to get a few shots. My blip was taken before 8 AM. There were quite a few people already at the beach, enjoying the noticeably cooler weather.

I came home and emptied the contents of the inside of the Peugeot. Yesterday, we moved the things from the trunk into the hire car. I then did more research on vehicles we can view, so after I picked G up, we headed to Ras Al Khor, where the authorities have built a dedicated "car souq". I had heard about this place, but today was the first time I saw it up close. WOW. Honestly, it was like a parallel universe. It is hard to describe and I haven't got any pictures of it because a. I was driving, and b. by now it was too hot to think about frivolous things like taking pictures.

We visited the office of a very interesting business. car24.com have got a new model to sell cars. Everything is done through their website or app, so I should never have been there. You are allowed to "reserve" a vehicle at the cost of £60. This fee gets automatically refunded after four days. The vehicle is brought to your home on a tow truck for you to do a test drive. If you want to purchase it, they assist you with the paperwork etc. and then deliver it to you. They also offer a two-year warranty and seven day period to make up your mind. Hmmm... They must be very confident of the cars they buy/sell.

We had to call into Wafi on the way home. We had lunch, then work (3 hours), then dinner and then Diane came. She has got herself a new laptop, and I helped her set up the antivirus and Microsoft 365. All done by 10; I've been catching up with my blips since then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.