Poundbury

I have mixed feelings about Poundbury: I sympathise with Prince Charles's ambition to improve the appearance of housing estates (in general terms) but the place has not weathered well.  On the one hand the architecture is reasonably attractive, particularly compared with the homogeneity of many housing estates, on the other it can appear a little sterile, unlived-in.  And who ensures that the appearance of individual buildings remains appropriate?  Clean and tidy, I mean.

But the place is there, and we had a visiting speaker (Tony Bramley FRPS) to the Bridport Camera Club last week who waxed quite lyrical about the photographic opportunities of the place.  I'll have to spend a bit of time looking into them.

I was in Dorchester for a COVID swab test, organised by the hospital in preparation for a procedure that I have to undergo on Friday.  I'm now self-isolating to keep the results of that test valid.  The procedure will entail the use of a camera, internally.  I'll describe it no further . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.