Sunlight vies with Owl-Light

One of the side effects of working from home is that I am not driving as the sun rises.I did toy with the idea of a sunrise across Kawau Bay, I was, however, less than pleased with the couple of photos I got. The very bright sun meant that the camera saw too much light leading to blow out.

I returned inside to serve my porridge and have breakfast. Which meant that I was looking at the far wall which was hit by the sun through the trees. Out came the iPhone camera again.

The poem is by S. We asked a printer in Hamilton to create a poster using her poem, and have loved this ever since. I may have blipped it before. I feel sure I will do so again.

After another day of meetings, and emails and phone calls, I got away for my run on the mudflats at 1700. In acknowledgement of the name of my journal , I am posting a photo of a Kuaka (Bar-tailed godwit). I counted 30 and there were perhaps as many again further north along the receding edge of the water. It seems that there are more each year at Snells Beach.

What there was certainly more of today (actually yesterday; it was announced today) was more new COVID cases; 45. And worryingly, 12 are not yet linked to previous cases or clusters. It is possible that this iswhat I (and many others) feared; casual breaching of the 'rules' of lockdown and mask wearing has resulted in unexpected transmission. It is still not rampant, but if each of those twelve spreads virus to six others we have 72 more. And so on.

I've just seen that "many" of the 45 were "in transitional or emergency housing". Basically they had been homeless, and very vulnerable, and not getting vaccinated as they are on the periphery of society. If we don't manage to look after those people better, there will be many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.