The best!

Today was a wonderful day - sunshine from start to finish. I can't imagine what it must be like for a weather forecaster who has said that Anstruther will be wet and dull all week. I suppose he just shrugs and says 'Whatever'!

We set off for Crail this morning, but drove through in search of the point on the map named Fife Ness. I imagined it was some wonderful piece of coastline, the tip of Fife, but when we arrived it was yet another golf course! There's some big golf thing on in Scotland at the moment. I'm afraid I'm not a golf fan. I remember some song quote which went something like 'With a stick they hit a ball, where it can't be found at all, and the caddy sits around and thinks and thinks'!

We came back to Crail - absolutely wonderful! We had a great walk around the harbour - I enjoyed walking on top of the walls - and found a tiny café where we managed to find a spare table outside and enjoyed coffee and shortbread.

Later on we  returned to the car and brought our picnic back down to the harbour where we sat and soaked up the sun to the sound of waves breaking on the nearby beach. Quite wonderful and far more to describe than I have time for!

We decided to drive back down the coast to explore Elie, but were disappointed in the harbour which was really just a breakwater. Amazing beaches if that's what turns you on. We tried to find somewhere to sit with a view of the sea to have a cuppa, but couldn't find anywhere. Sorry, my Blip friend from Elie, but we left and went back to St Monans where we explored the graveyard at the old Parish Church, perched on the clifftop. We then drove a little further and walked along the coast path to see the old windmill - see extra. Altogether a great day and I took 157 photographs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.