Capital adventures

By marchmont

Nenuphar

Today was the last day of the madness, for now.  I'd cancelled this morning's swim last night and although I woke at 5.30 as usual and did think of reinstating it I decided that staying in my toasty bed was better given the day ahead.  Reducing rush was my aim.

Turned out to be a wise decision.  I was at the coiffeur for 3 hours and didn't get home till 1.30, due to diverted traffic and many red lights.  I enjoy chatting to J but at times less talk and more applying of foils would be better.  Today was such a day.

I was out again at 1.50, this time by car to the dentist for my real filling.  It went better than I imagined but I do have to compare and contrast different approaches to Covid.  This week I've been in a doctor's surgery and 2 dental surgeries and none of then work to the same protocols.  The NHS dentist is still taking temps (useless, esp as it's the wrist which has been encased in a quilted jacket and wiping down door handles and keeping the waiting room closed.  Private dentist, sat on a squashy sofa and no tests and they do the Covid checks the day before. Doctor of course has no tests or questions.  Only thing that is uniform is me wearing a mask.  The worry with the dentists is that they are so behind with regular check ups no-one knows when it will get back to normal and that affects their income as well as our dental health.  Surely about time someone revisited the RA with so many people vaccinated.  But then I'm not an expert!

Home to prep for my meeting which involved downloading and opening 20 documents on my work PC.  Meeting seemed to go well, though unlike yesterday's, which I brought to a close bang on time, we overran by 45 minutes, but it was necessary. Oh and I succumbed and put the heating on (5 hours) before October.  It was 16.2 deg in the living room. 

I then decided I had to have baked beans (to go with the sausages) and that required a trip to Tesco (don't ask!).  I was halfway up the road, in the car, when I remembered I'd rushed out the house leaving the tatties on.  Dashed round Tesco, dashed back.  All well.  Sigh of relief.  Then about 20 minutes later, no phone.  Turned out I'd dropped/left it in the Tesco car park.  I think I was struggling with beans and keys and a mask. 

I had that 'world stops' feeling, my phone!  But luckily some lovely person, male, anonymous, had handed it in to Tesco.  There are good people in the world despite what the media is currently telling us.  Relief doesn't cover it.

Spent the rest of the evening feeling shattered, eating too much and watching, well watching some tv.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.