As Usual

Normal routine has been resumed. Mostly my Friday was just like any other of my Fridays. 

Farm shop to re-stock the fridge ahead of going back to work tomorrow. Laundry and ironing as well. I found myself outside Sunrise Bakehouse just before lunchtime - yes, as usual - lured by the prospect of a fresh, warm baguette. 

The day did have a few elements which were not routine. I submitted a VAT return. They seem to have redesigned the process to take account of Northern Ireland’s special status. My hunch is they outsourced the redesign to a 5 year old child. 

After doing all the usual stuff I got an error message:-

The amount you entered in Box 1 is higher than what we would expect, based on the amount in Box 6.” 

My Box 1 figure was zero. So was my Box 6 figure.  

Another unusual element was speaking to the Manager on the phone - today being a day she works but I don’t. A few days ago I had asked her about holidays this month, and got no response at all. Anyway, it is approved. As I thought, the problem was just the Boss and some of my younger colleagues driving her demented.  

Now I have to make a decision about what to do with the time off. 

The Blip is evidence of me giving in to temptation at the bakery and buying a cinnamon bun to keep the baguette company. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.