A whiff of Soviet times

Empty shelves. Queues for petrol, or just no petrol. Christmas ‘under threat’. This photo captures some of that spirit of the times… And it’s not good.

I mean…stock up early for Christmas…but you won’t even find what you want now… Heaven knows what it will be like in a couple of months time.

A busy day, mainly spent working…in the sense of a huge reading task that just had to be done today, as it meant a lot fewer interruptions than during the week. We did go shopping in the morning, and Mr A has been cooking various things through most of the day, and is just finishing something off now. We are preparing for another of our favourite Sunday lunches tomorrow, and there will still be plenty of stuff to do in the morning.

The light relief, apart from cottage pie for dinner, was watching the final episode of A House Through Time, which is my kind of programme, especially since it is set in Leeds, well, Headingley. Sadly I didn’t manage to get on the spinning bike, so I’m underwalked and underexercised today. I’ll try and make up for the exercise tomorrow morning, but I suspect that having had a sore Achilles’ tendon all week means that I’m going to be significantly underwalked compared to where I like to be. Equally, the rest today was probably good for it.

It will be another early night tonight as we need to get up early to do stuff tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.