Hill Difficulty (2)

Not a long day today, so I set our alarm for 7.45. It was still dark at 8! When day dawned, I was relieved to see a clear sky and we have walked all day in warm dry weather.

Because of our late dinner last night, we hadn't bought anything for breakfast and all supermarkets are closed on Sundays in Spain, so we decided to set out and to visit a cafe on the way. We walked and chatted for a while with three men in their 80s, two from California and the third from England. I hope I'm still walking when I'm 84. We stopped to eat at a lovely cafe in Mos where we also got our first credencial stamp of the day.

Soon afterwards we came upon 100s (I'm not exaggerating here) of teenagers walking the Camino, cheerful and noisy :-) It was while they were all around us that we came upon a part of the road which our guidebook had described as a "virtually vertical" descent and which was still wet from yesterday's rain. Completely unexpectedly, I was frozen with fear in a kind of panic attack. No doubt a flashback to last Seprember's fall. I did get down by holding very tightly to Sarah's hand and taking some deep breaths...so many surprises on this Camino..

I'm happy now, though. We have our own room in the most amazing albergue north of Redondela. There is a little dog called Kiss, a huge garden with a hammock and best of all, a washing machine and tumble dryer. We have put in virtually all our clothes - I am wearing my bikini and a long shirt while we wait for the dryer :-)

Also we are near the sea, so will be walking down there very soon! Feel like singing: https://youtu.be/xkRoVMABcRo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.