Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Quiz prizes

Tynedale University of the Third Age (U3A) is about to celebrate its 30th birthday. I was asked to photograph the whisky tumblers that will be the prizes for a quiz that is part of the celebrations. Of course I'd do it.

I needed to show the etched text on the front of the glass without it being overwhelmed by the pattern of the cut glass. I wanted to make the glass looks sparkly and lively so I looked up how to photograph cut glass. It turns out that I needed a graduated backdrop plus lights from the sides and beneath. Hmmn. I don't have those and this is the best I could do. I tried various materials to set off the glass, but in the end opted for black. It took time and I learnt quite a bit about how not to do it!

I took Arth to see our favourite physio this afternoon. I always feel better after seeing her because she is very positive even though progress is low. Arth enjoyed the ultrasound treatment. Very soothing. We have new exercises to do and I can start a little gentle cycling on the static bike. I am due to see the orthopaedic surgeon on Thursday for a review.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.