This is Glasgow

Or I should say this is one aspect of Glasgow. Like most big cities it's a complicated place of great historical, industrial and cultural significance, great wealth, grinding poverty, wonderful architecture, questionable architecture, dereliction and modern development side by side. There is a lot to say about Glasgow but it's better left to the people of Glasgow to say it. I'm only a visitor.

A fairly regular visitor it has to be said. I was in Glasgow yesterday and again today. My little grandson lives in Glasgow and Monday is my day to look after him. I'd arranged to drive through and pick him about about 09:00 as usual. Infernal insomnia made me decide that two or three busy motorways on a Monday morning, especially after the delays caused by an accident yesterday, made me decide to go by train.

Pre covid I was often in Glasgow and I always travelled by train. It's at least 18 months since I made that train journey and spent time in the city centre. I got an early train from Stirling as I wanted it to be as empty as possible. It was, as was the subsequent train from Central Station to where the Glasgow family lives. The return was a bit of a mission with a two year old, a buggy and all the accoutrements a toddler requires and, of course, a dog. We made it safely back but my companionable grandson is far from his usual self and is snuggled on the sofa, fast asleep and exhibiting all the signs of a nursery-acquired bug. Poor wee lad.

My blip is from the train. I used to love taking photos from a moving train. I'm so rarely on a train now that this self imposed challenge doesn't happen much. At the moment of the blip the train was going under a motorway slip road. There are restored warehouses to the right and some modern buildings, flats I expect, behind them. Glasgow's Miles Better, for those who can remember that slogan.

One way or another today looks like being a slow one here. And for me I hope an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.