Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2472. MM402 Inventions

The first device to help those with a hearing loss was invented in the 17th Century and was in the form of an ear trumpet.  In 1898, Miller Reese Hutchison created the first electronic hearing aid.  The first commercially available hearing aids were produced in 1913.

These are my newest hearing aids and they connect to my phone via BlueTooth and have the capability to stream music from my phone.  They are controlled via an app on the phone and can be adjusted for different situations.  
This type of digital hearing aid was first developed in the mid 1940’s and was part of a top secret project known as Project X which also involved input from the great Alan Turing. This work remained a closely guarded secret until 1975 and was the precursor for the development of digital hearing aids as we know them now.

When I was fitted with my first hearing aids back in 2014 I had to suffer lots of teasing from my family, and was sent lots of pictures of old ladies with hearing trumpets!  As my hearing has become progressively worse in that time, the teasing has eased a little…but never gone away!

Thank you to Laurie54 for hosting MonoMonday….

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.