YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Mono Monday - 18th century inventions

Bit of "poetic licence" in a sense today.  The "Spinning Jenny" machine was invented by James Hargreaves in the 18th century - 1764 and patented in 1770.  Spinning wheels had existed for centuries before that, but I'm using the tenuous link with the Spinning Jenny for my blip which is an oak Spinning Chair. My paternal grandmother had seem it in an antique shop just after I was adopted.  Someone had written in ink on the back "Jane's chair" - my name, so she felt she had to buy it for me. The legs are a bit battered but I like it like that as it shows the age.  No nails or screws anywhere holding it together, just wooden pegs.  It currently stands on the landing and tends to get things piled upon it. Taking today's Blip I polished it up and will try to keep it free of junk in future as having had it all my life I do rather like it!  Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.