Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Big puddles

We had so much rain last night that this morning there were huge puddles all over the woods. This is a puddle – not a small lake! I usually see children splashing about in their on weekends wearing wellies and rain suits. I had a good walk with Xena but we met a woman with a large German Shepherd dog on a long line of about 30 m – the dog was running some distance ahead of her, all muddy and filthy and then it proceeded to run around me so that I was caught up in the line and nearly fell over. It made my clean jeans all filthy where the line had rubbed against my legs and actually hurt my legs with what felt like a burn as the tape pulled against my legs. So annoying!

As I was driving home after my walk an ambulance came screaming past followed shortly by a police car and then a fire truck – I realised something was wrong. Just around the corner from our house a van had driven into a ditch next to the grassy pavement, apparently he had a seizure and lost control of his van. Thankfully no one was walking past at the time.

Our first camera club competition went well last night, we had a very good judge – not often you find a judge where you agree with all their comments. The only problem was that our images are scored out of 10, and there was not much difference in her marking – if she really liked an image she gave it a 9, and if she felt an image was lacking something it got an 8. I think marking out of 20 is a fairer system.
 
I have been anxiously tracking my parcel that I sent via UPS to my niece in SA – the one that failed to get there twice before. I was excited today to see that it has arrived in SA and is waiting at customs, so fingers crossed it gets through customs and she finally receives it.
 
I now have to go up to London as I am joining Gavin at a work function, it is drinks followed by dinner at the Tower of London with a private viewing of the crown jewels and then watching the nightly ceremony of handing over the keys. I don’t really feel like going up to London but I am sure it will be an interesting event so I should get a bit more enthusiastic about it.
 
The fuel shortage continues – either long queues at the garages snaking all the way down the road causing traffic problems, or an empty garage as there is no fuel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.