pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Sugar hit

It comes on most days. Some days it is stronger than others, but it is usually there; the mid-afternoon slump, waiting to sneak up on you.

Often, I will seek to combat it with a strong brew and some music or on other occasions, just go with it and curl up for a nap – the restorative power of 10-15 minutes shut eye is simply phenomenal. Today however, I went with a medicinal sugar hit of some red liquorice. You have to be careful with this stuff as too much will send you straight back into nap territory, fortunately, I am a highly experienced sugar-eating professional and know how to regulate the flow, so a few sticks of this and I was back on track.

Busy day again, which featured another trip to get a PCR test following a ping from test and trace (honestly, some people, keep the ‘rona in your pants why dontcha, sheesh) and a brief foray into town to collect some stuff and pick up a new waterproof as my old one had resorted to acting as a sponge – I hasten to add, that I had produced a negative lateral flow test before heading out.

The constant rain had raised the river level to the highest I had seen it for a long time, so much so that a flood warning had gone out and the river had ever so slightly tiptoed over its banks further downstream. Fortunately, the rain finally stopped just in time.

The Eldest declined an offer of heading out for dinner, but grasped the opportunity of a Domino’s pizza, so we sat there laughing at The Office (USA version) and watched The Amazing Spider-Man 2, which I must confess wasn’t as bad as I remember. It’s a shame that Andrew Garfield didn’t get another opportunity to play the part as he was excellent. 

Hump day tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.