Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2474. Broughty Ferry Castle

We took a wee drive out to Broughty Ferry this morning and had a wander around the wee shops.  We stopped for lunch there too as they have a Wetherspoons called, Jolly’s Hotel which they took over several years ago.
As we had a bit of time to spend there we went for a walk around the castle grounds.  I hadn’t realised that there used to be a Submariner Miners base next to the Castle which was established in the late 1800’s and it was the job of these submariners to plant mines along the Tay estuary to protect the East of Scotland from invasion by sea.

I also picked up quite a few lovely items from the charity shops there, a gorgeous John Lewis Blue denim dress, a Laura Ashley winter dress, an Armani T-Shirt and some summer weight trousers…quite a haul!  They are all washed and hanging up and looking like new!

I started to paint my New York street scene this afternoon, having sketched it out yesterday.  I had some wonderful advice from the wonderfully gifted, Paula about how to mix a beautiful soft black to use using scarlet and viridian colours and it worked beautifully as I tested on the bottom part of the painting just to see how it looked.  I used a fountain pen to draw over the pencil lines and as almost a third of the painting is almost white sky I painted a bit of that in too.  It’s going to take me a while too finish but I have plenty of time to do it as my friend’s birthday isn’t until November.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.