Blackberry & Apple Abstract

Thanks for all the lovely comments on my yesterblip. Both during our walk yesterday and again today we've seen loads of butterflies, possibly as it's gone amazingly sunny and mild again. I made a blackberry and apple crumble with berries picked off the hedgerows on our walk. When it came out of the oven, I put an old scratched Pyrex plate over the dish, and the resulting drops of condensed water appealed to me - so evenly sized and spaced. Cropped my photo quite severely and 'turned up' the saturation for my Abstract Thursday blip today. (We shall eat the crumble this evening.)

Today is National Poetry Day in the UK with the theme 'choices'. All blippers know how hard it is to choose just one image, and it was the abstract challenge that won for me today (thanks to host Ingeborg). But I couldn't let the UK's NPD go unmarked, so my Autumn Crocus appears as an Extra, and my newly written poem below.

I took the crocus photo in the grounds of Buckfast Abbey. We'd driven over to meet a friend whom we'd not seen for five years, when we met him for the first time on holiday in Madeira. He'd been holiday in Cornwall and was on his way up-country again. It wasn't a big detour from the A38 for him and his friend, and it was very good to meet up for a chat in the cafe. We chose to sit outdoors and enjoy the views of the abbey and its beautiful gardens. 

Choices

If you were a crocus, would you choose autumn or spring?
Would you soften the close of summer or, rather, bring
the promise of warmth and colour to frost's residual sting?
Both have their places. Both show their faces at times of year
when the human race looks hard to find some cheer.

© Celia Warren 2021

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.