Thursday/Diardaoin

Day 3 into my 4 day weekend…

It has had positive parts to it… starting well with a good night’s sleep. 

I was at the farm shop just after 9am, and enjoyed my coffee and scone on the terrace in spite of the damp, gloomy (but warm) weather.  

Then I went to the bank. Someone had sent me a cheque. That is twice this year. I was dreading it, but thought I might be able to outwit the local Covidiots by going to the tiny Falkland branch. It is only open every third Thursday in every third month in the hope of driving footfall down to rock bottom so they can close it. But today was an “open” day.

Anyway, top marks to the young lad behind the bullet and virus proof plexi. Efficient, friendly and with a sense of humour. The two other customers had their masks on and could count up to 2 metres as well. 

I was amazed. 

After that I discovered a new bakery/deli had opened next door, so I wandered in to see what was on offer. More friendliness, efficiency and good humour. And a croissant filled with Emmental and mortadella for my lunch. I have not eaten mortadella for ages. Plus they had Parmesan, mozzarella and tonic water, none of which the farm shop can supply (unless you like vegan Parmesan). 

I’ll be back, as Arnie used to say. Perhaps he still does.  

The afternoon involved a bit of laziness, and some ironing. The evening involved more laziness, more food and no ironing. 

The most exciting bit was a 4 day riverboat journey down the River Lena from Yakutsk to Tiski via YouTube, compressed into 2 hours. You had to be there…

The Blip is Falkland Palace, which is opposite the bank. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.