It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Cool as the Bars

A few small things are enough to make a massive difference in perception of the world. In reality, not much changes apart from the thoughts in one's head. It was such a day for me. I love change.

I was excited too as I was picking my Brompton up from the bike shop. It's my favourite bike. Fast, quick handling and it rarely needs maintenance apart from a quick wash n lube. I draws I attention too...especially when I fold it. It's had more admiring glances in a month than my fancy race bike ever had. I can take it most places without having to worry about locking it up in the street. I love that bike.

It's been pimped a bit though. New stiffer but mega low bars, the latest ultegra flat bar brakes from Shimano and new grips. What a difference! It handles better, more quickly but just feels brilliant. Admittedly, my back creeks slightly being in such a low position but it's a worthwhile compromise. Boys and their toys eh!

After getting my bike, I rushed around town looking for swimming trunks. The only place that stocked them was a dreadful shop in the Arndale, Sports Direct. It was so crammed, with not an inch of spare floor space. My trunks were what I wanted and the shop assistants were really good, so no real complaints.

That only left me 15 mins to get over to Moss Side and get in the pool. I enjoy Nick's hard sessions and tonight was no exception. 3200 metres completed with me still feeling strong at the end. I'm suitably fatigued now though. An early night is required. I mustn't neglect to rinse my new trunks though.

Panic ......it's just started to snow as I disembark from the train. I'm desperate for a cuppa...only one key on my keyring and its not my door one. No clue where I'm going to stay for the night. It's sub zero! My phone battery is dead. Rosemary arrives on Thursday. Oh. How did my key get into that other pocket. Panic over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.