Wedding Day

Today would have been my parents' 69th wedding anniversary. They actually only got to celebrate 31 wedding anniversaries as my dad died many years before my mum. I've got a few photos of the day and to make sure I'm not falling foul of any copyright I set about a double exposure of photos of the proclamation of their marriage banns and of the wedding party after the ceremony. The photo was taken on 08.10.1952 outside Colinton Parish Church in Edinburgh. I know who everyone is except the jolly chap on the far left. He's a mystery to me. I imagine that he's no longer alive and I know that everyone else but for the lad on the far right has now died. The lad is my uncle who is now 85.

That's given me a project on a wet Friday morning. It took me ages.

Now I must get ready to go out. Flora doesn't know it but she is having a visit from her Borrow my Doggy pals whom she hadn't seen for weeks. She's still asleep now but will soon be beside herself. When she is out I'm off with our friend D for coffee. D has recently lost her guide dog. Not lost as in he has died but lost in that he has had to resign from being a guide dog. He really wasn't up to the job. This leaves D very isolated and lacking the independence which a dog gives her. It's not at all a good situation and it could be months before she is matched with another dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.