Apple Day

The Community Orchard is celebrating its 10th birthday this year. Apple Day this year is extra special. The orchard apple, pear and plum trees do really well but, unfortunately, someone/s come in the middle of the night and strip them of fruit. Not very community minded - I think it's a commercial enterprise.

The apples and pears being used today have been donated by people in the neighbourhood who have a surplus. Local trees have been bountiful.

None of my potential blips is a great photograph but they're a record. The main is the fruit press being put to good use for fresh apple juice. The extras are the chopping table and the apple fritters being fried. My friend the cook made a batch with gluten free flour so that I could enjoy the treat too.

I'm home now and I'm going to bake an apple cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.