A battle for sunshine

There was a battle going on in the sky today. I was driving on the parkway earlier today and the sun was shining so bright that I was actually too warm in the car. Then like most days lately, the clouds slowly started to fill the sky. I thought for sure it would rain because it got so dark. Then on my way back home the big dark clouds started moving and the sun was trying desperately to peek out again.
I was with both my sister's today and we were talking about how much we are craving the warm sunshine and how good it makes us feel. We live in a paranoid world where we hear messages all the time about the dangers of the sun. The doctors tell us we lack vitamin D because of our limited exposure due to sunblock lotions and not being outdoors enough. An entire generation will be will be vitamin D deficient from the fear of the sun. Vitamin D supplements might help us internally but it does nothing for the way you actually feel both mentally and physically after a good dose of sunshine.
I admit for vanity reasons I've been hiding from the sun for years now because I didn't want to get wrinkles and sunspots. I actually think this is the first time in a long time that I am willing to forego the all the worry and just sit in the sun and let it's healing powers work its magic on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.