The tree, the fruit and the pink potato

A wet start to the day so I got a lift down town to have a few prints made at the camera shop for a friend. I was going to ask about the lens I took in a year ago - they were going to assess the damage and suggest the price of repair - but I was beaten to it! I was told that they would try to look at it soon! It doesn't really matter now - I bought a new one ages ago!

The rain eased off this afternoon so I decided to turn out the two potato grow-bags and see if anything was hiding inside! I split a bag of seed potatoes between the two bags back in the spring - the variety was 'Pink Fir Apple', unusual as it's a late maincrop salad potato. It's obviously unpeelable because of its knobbly shape, so the skin is eaten too. I remember growing this a long time ago, so thought it would be worth trying again. Apparently it was imported from France around 1850, but of its history before that date nothing is known. A strange name - the 'pink' part is obvious, but why bring a conifer and a fruit into it!

Seven pounds between the two bags, including quite a few small ones that I'll use as seed next year. I won't grow it in bags again as it's extremely tall and most of my stems collapsed in the wind out on the deck. It will be better grown in the Glencruitten Walled Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.