Ferny folk

Today I'd arranged to go to Glasgow for a BPS meeting, the British Pteridological Society that is, aka the Fern Club.

Held in the Botanic Garden, there were eleven of us and first we enjoyed a wander round the Kibble Palace, a huge cast-iron glasshouse, then the Main Range and the Filmy Fern house, which latter is not generally open to the public. Filmy ferns are very delicate, their fronds being usually only one cell thick, so they need a cool, moist atmosphere without which they would shrivel up in no time.  My Blip today is of a few of my friends getting cool and moist!

We had a number of talks this afternoon and a look round some of the 'back-up' glasshouses - absolutely stuffed with the most amazing plants!

Due to a fatal accident on the A85 this morning I was redirected through Glencoe, very spectacular today with the rising sun and mist covered mountains, but adding quite a lot to the journey. I wanted to stop for photographs, but I was already late so had to push on. The road was still closed on my way home, so I had to detour again but came south this time. A six-hour return trip, but a good day in spite of that. A very sad day for the relatives and friends of the man who died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.