A "Motherism".

"Some folk'll lend their bellies till owt."
Today I lent my belly to "Jack Fruit".  An "acquired taste" I do not intend to acquire.
To, correctly, apply a double negative - I didn't not like it, or I'd not have the other 1/2 tin in the Fridge.  However, in the sentence "Makes an excellent substitute for meat ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ."  I'd swap "an excellent" for the single, lonely, word "a".
As near as the tin will tell me it's 0.4%, Fat 9.5% carbohydrate, none of which is sugar (I could tell) Fibre 3%Protein 1.3%
HUH? 9.5+3+1.3+0.4 = 14.2% "Stuff"?  Must mean it's 85.8% H20.  This water must be corrosive stuff, they were packed in water, not Syrup, or fruit juice, or any such; just plain water.  They thought it necessary however to line the tin against corrosion.  Not a sight I'm used to seeing in tins.
: ¬ (0)
I've done a "Snap Chatter" - other similar names are available, of the finished item.  An otherwise tasty Stir Fry, let down by the Leading Cast Member.  Presumably that'll be why they suggest "Pulled Jackfruit in a smokey barbecue Sauce"?  Old Boots in a smokey BBQ Sauce would be quite tasty n'est pas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.