Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Is This What I Think It Is?

A couple of weeks ago this part of the river bed was stone dry. Then we had a welcome rain about ten days ago. 25 mm fell in downtown Blenheim but double that amount was recorded in the headwaters of the Taylor River. Then the water had to creep gradually downstream, passing through the Taylor Dam (a flood retention dam) and ever onward towards town.
It has taken well over a week for the water to emerge from the river gravels and appear at these stepping stones.
The dogs and I had not done this riverbed crossing for a while so they were most surprised to find the water running freely here once more... Certainly only just a gentle flow but I got wet feet positioning myself to capture this shot of Gypsy getting her paws wet while her little doggy mind pondered..."Is this what I think it is?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.