Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little Things

It has been very goopy out today with some heavy rain showers, no optimum for photography.  There are very few birds at the feeders right now (still plenty of bugs, berries and seeds around the property) and it was too cool today for butterflies or bees or even wasps.  But... but, but, but... it was good weather for Small Milkweed Bugs, both adults and nymphs.  This one is a nymph.  You can clearly see what will eventually be his wings, but at the moment his only defense is to run around to the opposite side of the plant or drop to the ground.  He eventually dropped but now before I grabbed a few shots.  I have posted the adult, which is quite beautiful with its heart-shaped design HERE on FLickr.

We had a delightful FT chat with my parents this morning - both looking well and questioning our collective sanity about getting a puppy.  They shared some very fun stories of our Irish Setter who they got as a puppy (I was a little too young to remember most of that).  

Then it was off to get a Covid test, preparatory to flying.  It's not required, but it seemed a prudent and considerate thing to do.  As always, very easy and fast, and I should get the results tomorrow.

The pile in my work space is growing now as I set aside essentials for my trip.  In 48 hours I will be airborne!  And thanks to our wonderful guide/organizer (Jeff), I have a driver set up to take me out to a shooting location on the afternoon of the 13th.  The rest of the group is all flying in at various times that day so I will be going solo, which is just fine.  I did not relish sitting around the hotel all day - especially not knowing how many totally amazing birds are just a short trip away.  

Thank you for all the love and all the kind words on our rescue pup, Jax.  I am really looking forward to the day when he comes to live with us - just three weeks from today!

Dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.