Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

19th Century Invention

Thanks to Laurie54 for coming up with a fun series of MonoMonday themes, today’s being inventions from the 19th Century. Honestly, there were so many interesting things invented during this time that it was kind of hard to pick just one. But since my husband’s grandfather’s sewing machine has a place of honor in our living room...the decision got easier.

The first mechanical sewing machine was patented in 1830 by a French tailor named Barthelemy Thimonnier. He went on to produce machines which were used to sew uniforms for the French Army.

I hauled the suitcase out today and started gathering everything together. All clothing will go into packing cubes (speaking of wonderful inventions!). I like having things in my suitcase organized and tidy, especially since we will be moving to new locations every few days. I won’t pack the camera into their bag until tomorrow. I purchased a perfect sized rolling backpack so everything will fit neatly into it and my tripod straps to the side. And it will easily fit into the overhead. Can’t believe I’m finally going to make it to South America!

Jax's foster mom sent me some pics of him today - he’s just adorable.

The dark decision will probably involve nuts today...

Xo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.