Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little Fall Flyer

The New England Asters and Goldenrod are the last things to bloom in my garden and this year the asters are really putting on a show.  They are also attracting all the remaining pollinators and were abuzz with bees and syrphid flies.  I liked this shot because I don't often nail bees in flight.  Took this with my 300mm lens which made it easier in terms of focusing.  Just a common honey bee, probably from a feral colony somewhere nearby.  These aren't native to the US and are more aggressive than our native bumble bees so sometimes they upset the stability of the native populations.  

In Extra, a Transverse-banded Flower Fly. Many thanks to JDO for hosting TinyTuesday this month!

I slept in this morning while Hubs took Jax to daycare.  Hopefully Jax will come home tired.  But either way, I had a day to get some things done without my little "helper".  So floors mopped, Hammerhead deployed to vacuum various rooms, dog bedding and human bedding washed.  And even some time to work in the garden.  I had to spread some dirt and peat moss to fill in some of the areas where I dug up phlox and day lilies.  Hubs is off today too so he has been doing various outdoor chores.  It's gorgeous outside so neither of us minded being out.  One more day of this beautiful weather before the rain arrives.

Mom and Dad are all settled back into their condo.  It felt strange not having them here today.  

Good talk with my niece who is battling a cancer diagnosis right now.  Her prognosis seems to be good but still...it is cancer.  And there is just nothing about cancer that feels good.  And sometimes you don't need people to tell you it will be "okay" - sometimes you need people to just listen.  Hopefully I can be one of those people for her.  

I think something dark with nuts today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.