pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

M'boy, 9

Manic Monday lived up to its name today, with a crazy, busy day at work serving as a prelude to a crazy, busy evening where tea, birthday celebrations and visits to Beavers and Cubs all needed to be squeezed in.

Squeeze it in we did (albeit with a slight snafu over a collection time where reliance was foolishly made on my hitherto unseen telepathic abilities) and we were able to finish m’boy’s 9th birthday in style. In retrospect, the use of a sparkler as a glorified candle on his homemade birthday cake may have been a little ambitious/reckless, but still safer than the Roman Candle I initially wanted to use. 

As usual he was spoilt rotten by his family and friends, and I must confess to having a slight stinging sensation behind the eyes when he opened his main present from me (the Chelsea shirt you see here) and saw that his favourite player and number were printed on the back. The display of genuine surprise, excitement and happiness as he barrelled into me for a thank you hug made my day.

My girls were on good form too with The Youngest setting up her watercolour pencils and sketchpad next to The Eldest this evening, and peppered her with questions about her art homework, which The Eldest was happy to answer. More golden moments. 

M’boy has had a much deserved great day and went to bed clutching his new shirt, a very tired but happy camper.

********

I wanted to say thank you for your kind words, stars and likes on yesterday’s mental health-related blip. Whilst I maintain that the inhabitants (inmates?) of Blipfoto are the nicest, friendliest and most supportive community on the internet, my chums who are subjected to my ramblings on Facebook (where this journal is also shared), are a pretty damn good bunch too. It has been interesting to see the comments and messages from others regarding their own mental health battles, and also to hear the truth behind some of those smiles with which we are presented on social media.

There are so many hidden battles going on, but here I choose to take “battle” as a positive, because to me that implies resistance. I see that as a growing group of people refusing to give ground against a common relentless foe, so to those that are battling in any way, shape or form, keep fighting the good fight. 

I’m proud to stand shoulder to shoulder with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.