Apples

It has been one of those days. 

One of those days when the car has gone in for its annual MoT inspection. It is 6 years old now, but it has only 48,000 miles on the clock. It needs new tyres (which I told them it would) and new rear brakes. 

Not really a big deal, in the greater scheme of things. Ah, but wait! It is leased, and maintenance is included in the deal. The end result is that while I do not bear the pain of the cost of the work, I have the frustration of waiting while the lease company gets around to authorising the work. 

I am sure they will answer the phone tomorrow… perhaps even reply to emails.  

On the positive side, one consequence is that I have walked for 100 minutes today without really going anywhere. 

Another positive is that I did not get too wet on my early morning trudge, and the sun came out in time for my early afternoon one. Is that 2 positives, do you think?

Next, as part of all this I used 3 pedestrian crossings without anyone trying to drive over the top of me. 

Dinner is next. A butternut squash curry, Sri Lankan style. Sublime. A lovely antidote to a couple of days of plain old meat, veg & tatties. 

The evening also brought an AGM via Zoom. I am still trying to extract a positive from that. Perhaps my own restraint by not calling anyone a cretin? 

The Blip. Yes, it is now war memorial season. Any day now the poppy police will be upon us like the Stasi in their heyday. Well, not quite. This one is to local volunteers who died fighting on the republican side in the Spanish Civil War. It is nice to see it being well cared for.

It is located beside a busy town centre road, but my guess is almost no-one knows what it is.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.