Making vegan leek & potato soup

is a bit tricky when using home grown spuds with critter damage but I was determined to use as much of the crop as possible. The woodlice had a lucky escape this time ................ Concentrated soup is now in the freezer ready to take away on our MOT in November, just need to add a dairy free substitute, oat, almond, soya???? I've never used any of them, and don't want to alter the flavour from the veggies if possible. Any suggestions would be appreciated. :-D  I used up the last of the courgettes to make 3 jars of courgette, orange, & walnut chutney, then while that was bubbling away I made 4 jars of runner bean chutney, a new recipe for me so it will be interesting to know what folks think of it. That will be the end of chutney production for 2021, BUT I've just read through a recipe for blackberry balsamic which sounds delicious so might have to make a small batch, especially as I know where there are some plump juicy blackberries.
A chat with Mum mid cooking, then it was time for lunch. We discussed having 1 car between us. I don't think we need two, so hubby has been to visit his garage owner buddy, & agreed a deal with my Aygo in part exchange for a Seat Ibiza.
I dropped 4 big bags of clothing & bedding in the charity bins up by the car park earlier, then 4 gardening books to Brainwave charity shop. I spotted 2 tops that Mum might like, Dash, & M&S brands. If she does'nt like them or they don't fit I can return them and get a credit note. Bought her a new rope washing line. I'd put a new plastic coated line up a while ago but it sticks in the pulley malarky.
Our bedroom is having a makeover, a change of decor, the curtains & matching duvet laundered and on the line early this morning. Not much wind but the sun has been lovely & warm.  I have some ideas for art to go on the walls as well.
After spending so much time indoors, it was time to head to the allotment with all the fresh veggies peelings. It was beautiful up there. The sun was gradually dropping away down in the west, but still warm. My first job was to empty the car of all my gubbins, that did'nt take long. I picked runner beans from the late planting, lots of flower but might be a tad late. The climbing French beans are drying nicely so I picked the shriveled pods, leaving the remainder to dry on the vine. Picked 2 more bunches of sweet peas. The birds, well I hope it's birds and not rodents, have already started on the sunflower seed heads on the plot. I took out the spent sweetcorn plants, planted between the sunflowers, then cut off the borage stems that had finished flowering on another block. It was cider time & I just happened to have a can in the shed, but did'nt have a glass. What to do???? An empty cream container that I cut up to make plant labels just happened to still be intact. Perfect! I sat by the shed looking out across Dartmoor enjoying a glass of apple juice. :-)
A busy, but very productive day.

Thanks to KangZu for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.