The Mast

Emley Moor mast, the iconic telecommunications tower seen for miles around and the tallest freestanding structure in the UK at 330.5 m, is always a sign of homecoming to Yorkshire. Travelling up the M1 you come over an incline and there it is in the distance directly in front of you and although this sounds odd I find it very reassuring to see, to the point I can't imagine ever not seeing it there.

I'm sitting typing this looking at it out of the window on the skyline lit up by six red lights beaming over the valley in the darkness.

Before getting to Mum and Dad's and blipless I thought I would nip and get a close up shot which proved tricky with the backlight and traffic around so I ended up in the carpark of the local restaurant. Many happy memories there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.