Craigentinny Marbles...

I've lived in my flat for 10 years and this is literally just round the corner, only I've never seen it before. I noticed it on the way back from the doctors yesterday so I went round today to see what it is. There's writing on the side, a bit like you'd find on a grave and indeed that's exactly what it is.

I asked my Mum about it as she was brought up round here and apparently it's The Miller Mausoleum, the last resting place of William Henry Miller. The history if you're interested.

My brother had a fall up on the slopes today... apparently he was attempting some sort of Superman manoeuvre and landed on his head. X-rays have been done and he's not broken, just bruised. It seems boys never grow out of pretending to be super heros... he's almost 43!! Eejit! I won't rip the piss too much. Honest.

I'm still mending... my skin is really tight but I think maybe that's how it'll be for a while. I'm trying not to think about the hole underneath but I guess it's sort of still there, so that'll take time to heal too. I'm probably expecting too much too soon. My eye is still fuzzy... it takes longer than normal to focus but I can't decide if that's because I'm not wearing my specs and it'll sort itself out when I get them back on. I tried them on the end of my nose but I look even more ridiculous than normal like that so I think perhaps I'll try wine instead and make the other eye fuzzy too! I should mention that I slept for 11 hours last night... and this morning, I woke up at six but went back to sleep and got up at 11am. I can't tell you how amazing that was!

I can't actually believe that in three weeks time I'll be in NYC! I'm getting my bag down and starting to pack next week for sure!!

21 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.