Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

My Favourite Anthem

We passed this huge hoarding a couple of days ago, and as this is Holy Week, I decided that I would make it one of my blips this week to remind myself and others that God's Love for us never changes. A local church, the Bible Institute, advertises on here at least twice a year - at Christmas and Easter and it is in a very prominent position, near a busy road junction in the town, so will be seen by many people and is a good reminder of what Easter is all about.

Seeing the Scripture reference, John 3:16, reminded me of an anthem - I am not normally an "anthem" type of person and much prefer the more modern worship songs, despite being a more mature lady, but this is something special and I would probably say this is my favourite anthem.

The anthem is "God so Loved the World" which is from The Crucifixion, composed by John Stainer in 1887. An anthem is defined as "a sacred vocal composition with words usually from the Scriptures" and this particular work is often sung in churches on Good Friday. I have sung this myself, when I belonged to a choir and always found this piece very moving. Listen to it sung by St Paul's Cathedral Choir, London and also enjoy seeing the cathedral.

You may also like to read the following: The notes are courtesy of John Bawden and as requested on this web page, I have notified him.

I have never actually been to St Paul's Cathedral so perhaps this should go on my "To Do" list! I apologise for the length of this, but I hope you find it interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.