Schlumbergera truncata I think

The False Xmas cactus. Well that would explain why it's flowering in October .... I knew it was a fake! I left this plant in Mum's safe hands 19years ago, when hubby & I set off on our walkabout, & it's sat on her mantlepiece ever since. It's looking an absolute picture at the mo, well apart from a little dust here n' there, covered in buds with a few open blooms, so I took it outside to snap it against the fabulous blue sky yesterday. The blooms are stunning but difficult to appreciate when the stems hang down. Mum is thrilled with it. :-)
Today has been quite productive, bedroom curtains down and laundered, front door curtain pressed and hung, replacement bedroom curtains pressed & measured. They are about 6" too long. I stopped messing about with the curtains. Hubby wanted to return the hire car to Newton Abbot so we headed off, I met him outside Enterprise car hire. All done! We whizzed in to town did a bit of shopping, I managed to buy pickling spice from a health food store so now I can pickle the onions for hubby :-)  My yogurt was on offer in Iceland, 50pence cheaper than the Coop. Back home for lunch then a quick go at the curtains before heading over to Ideford for a coffee & catch up with Jorgiesmum. Sitting outside, the air was quite warm but the sun was hiding. A Green woodpecker was feeding on the ground in the field behind Jan's deck. I've got a feeling could be jorgiesmum's blip today.
Toad in the hole for dinner tonight ..

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.