Lunch With Your Friends

I was starting to post a Crow shot that I had taken this morning when I got a call from C. She had gone to pick up some groceries she had ordered and had driven by a large pond behind WallMart where she often walks the little dog. She called to tell me that there were 'lots' of birds in and around the pond. "Get your camera and I'll drive home to pick you up!"  I was tempted to say that I was busy but thanks for thinking of me, but a little voice in my head suggested that I just go with it. Longer story short...there were hundreds of wading birds at the pond and about half of them were WoodStorks! I'm guessing they're in migration since I've never seen so many Wood Storks in one place at one time! I stopped counting at 50! There were more but they were at the other end of the pond. I shot for about 30 minutes and then left since we still needed to get the groceries. Almost as an afterthought, I also took a few photos of a family of Sandhill Cranes, parents and a young one. They're year-round residents and I knew that I could get better shots of them later. In the main shot: it took a few attempts but this WoodStork finally did swallow his good sized catch, probably a spotted sunfish. Do take a look at the *extras...a portion of the birds at the pond. The Wood Storks are the ones with dark heads. A closer look at four really cute Storks,  probably youngsters! 
I'm planning to head back to the pond later in the week for some more photos. Hope they're still there!
Wishing all of you a Peaceful Week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.