A Nice Surprise

A few days ago, tidying up in the garden, I looked over the Iris unguicularis that I relocated from the Norfolk garden a year ago, looking for signs of flowers to come.   A winter flowering species from the southern Mediterranean and North Africa, it can take a while to settle down after being moved.   This early flower, which I didn't anticipate, is a good sign.   It's a nice, large flowered form that I raised from seed a few years back.

A work day that started rainy ... and stayed that way.  Persistently wet but not torrential.   Aber cafe wasn't busy but nor were we bored.   I tacked  the cleaning at Wharf onto my shift and was all done just after 530.   An evening off!   Ruth and I have eaten, finished one batch of apple jelly and juiced the second batch.   Meg has had an outing, we visited Katie who will be dog-sitting for me while I am away overnight this week.  Yes, another trip.   Ruth to Birmingham and Jamie back from Poole but spread over two days this time.   A rest day tomorrow first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.