How to rebuild a City

On the recommendation of a friend I listened to the above titled Radio 3 programme this morning. It was all about Coventry, the largest city in England that I have never visited, and it was a really excellent programme. It made me wish I could visit.

It got me thinking about inventions of the 20th century, todays Mono Monday theme. There seems to be some dispute about who invented the radio, like other inventions many people made important contributions. But what is clear is that much of what we take for granted was invented in the 20th century - the ability to transmit human voices, the creation of commercial and public broadcasting services, wireless sets and then transistor and digital radios for consumers of those new services. We are so used to radio now that it is easy to forget how extraordinary it must have seemed in the 1920’s.

Thanks to Laurie54 who has come up with a different challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.