Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Landing In My View

(Madera Canyon back blip)

I couldn't pass up taking the shot of the white-breasted nuthatch (left)because it landed just a few feet from me in its search for bugs. But the other two I can now add to my life list. The small one on the right is a Cedar Waxwing.  Not unusual for most of the country but it's listed as an uncommon visitor to the Madera Canyon area.  The big fella is also an uncommon visitor to thee parts.  It's a band-tailed pigeon.  There was another photographer standing next to me and we were helping each other with spotting.  Both of us got excited when we realized what we were looking at. Amazingly, we got them within five minutes of each other.  The waxwing was really, really out of my range and extremely high. I was surprised I got it as focused as I did but would have liked to get a more classic view of its face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.