WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Ghostly

You live and learn. Next time I try this effect, I'll use a faster shutter speed.

This building in Carcassonne was a big surprise -- I've never seen it before. We found it because we showed up for a 6:15 showing of Pedro Almodovar's new film which turned out not to exist -- it wasn't on until 9 o'clock. So we went for a wander before having a drink and something to eat. Unfortunately the light was very dull and flat. Fortunately, for once I'd brought my tripod with me -- a rare occurrence.

I googled the building this morning (Thursday) and could find virtually no information about it. The names of the sculptor (Jean Guilhem) and architect (Etienne Gordien) were engraved over one of the windows, and even that didn't help. The building looks in good condition, although like virtually all the buildings in Carcassonne's lower town it could do with a good scrub. "They don't know about Karchers here," said a passing woman to her friend while I was photographing it.

As for the film, Los Amantes Pasajeros (I'm So Excited in English), it wasn't by any means Almodovar's best. He's gone back to his earlier style of humour, but it just isn't in the same laugh-out-loud league as Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown -- nor is the acting of the usual high quality. At least he seems to have got over his recent obsession with hospitals (although one character does get taken away in an ambulance). The best part of the film is the song-and-dance routine by the three camp cabin stewards, which features in the trailer -- so you could just watch that.

(backblipped)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.