Phew - a big dinner

Last year Jenny and I booked into Cringletie but it was cancelled due to Covid restrictions. When we looked into booking this year it had almost doubled in price so here we are at Windlestraw in Walkerburn.

It’s a little country house hotel with 6 rooms and we are the only guests at the moment. We had a 3 mile walk along the Tweed to work up an appetite but it wasn’t nearly enough for our enormous dinner. The 6 (or was it 7?) courses were too much for me - I’m used to smaller portions so by the time I got the cod eaten I was almost done. The venison was too rich for someone who is used to a vegetarian diet. It was delicious with its blackcurrant sauce and parsnip chips but by eating it I couldn’t manage the pudding. We staggered upstairs without our petit fours. What lightweights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.