Floors Castle

Jenny and I parted company after our lovely treat at Windlestraw . We are both feeling tired, partly due to our busy time, but mainly due I think, to 3 nights of rich food in alarming portions. The owner gave us some of their horseradish from the garden so we’ll plant it and see if we are lucky. (I don’t like the gloopy tasteless sauce that comes in a jar so fancied making my own). She also said that 2 lots of people due to come up to stay from England had cancelled due to tested positive for Covid.

Mr C picked me up at Newtown and we came back via Kelso. This is Floors Castle, home of the Duke of Roxburghe. My great aunt worked as a laundry maid there.

A letter was waiting for me from DVLA. The driving licence saga continues. I knew they would want the field of vision test done on both eyes so the consultant said when I had my check up to get one done so that it was ready for them. But oh no - I have to make an appointment at DVLA approved centres - Specsavers - none are near us - all the ones on the list are 60+ miles away round trip. Also I have only 3 weeks time-frame allowed - if I miss the deadline I could lose my licence - So I started ringing those on the list. The first 3 could not do it in the time allocated but I was lucky with the last on the list. I means I won’t can see a Suffolk friend who was coming to have lunch that day. I am sorry about that, but I have been messed about by DVLA for over 6 months so must get the test done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.