Positive messages

An important win for Kalyn and the team yesterday! They won the first two sets (25-19, 28-26) then lost the next two (21-25, 21-25). Nail biting time! They pulled off a win in the 5th set, 15-8. We thought they were going to win in three straight sets, but I guess they decided to keep us on the edge of our seats. This coming week they're heading north to Alaska to play in Anchorage and Fairbanks. We won't be going to those games.  :-)
Anyone remember that song?
I went out just before noon, later than usual, and walked the road at Xwaaqw'um. I was dressed for rain and carried my umbrella but didn't get a drop and was happy that I could take the camera out of the bag for a few shots. There was a van parked along the road and I liked how it looked surrounded by the autumn colours. I'm betting that there won't be many leaves left tomorrow! We've had some heavy rain since and gusts of wind, both expected to increase today and overnight. We're still getting warnings to prepare for power outages and we have! Extra water on hand, G's got the generator ready to go, and we never have to worry about staying warm. I made mushroom moussaka for supper and hopefully the power won't go out when it's time to put it in the oven. If it does, we can always make toasted cheese on top of the wood stove - no objections ever to toasted cheese from me!  Been awhile since I made mushroom moussaka though....
Ran into a young man visiting the island from Alberta on the trail and got talking. It's the first time I've actually talked to an anti-vaxxer. We managed to listen to each other with respect, exchanged opinions and agreed to disagree. I could have gotten into a heated argument, but what's the point? No way either of us would change the other one's mind. He said that he's done a lot of research and thinks that the whole virus thing is a conspiracy to keep control over people. I suppose his research must be more valid than that done by scientists and medical researchers. I just don't get it. 
Extra: Lovely to see a sign inviting people to help themselves to an apple and to have a good day. Made me smile. I blipped this stand a few weeks ago. There's no cash box and no sign with prices, so I'm not sure that people are meant to help themselves to the giant zucchini and the pumpkins. Someone might!  was a van parked along the road and I liked how it looked surrounded by the autumn colours. I'm betting that there won't be many leaves left tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.