helenann

By helenann

White Bryony

A rather dull, overcast day,with rain later this afternoon. 
We went for a short walk to our local wildlife area and Whiteshute ridge, where I spotted these White Bryony berries. They look attractive, but the whole plant is poisonous  to humans so I didn't  pick any of them.

This  evening we  watched a most interesting TV programme  about the author Bernardine Evaristo. I read her novel,  "Girl, Woman Other", earlier this year which I found refreshingly unique and clever, as well as experimental, as it has very little  punctuation.  She is only a couple of months younger than me but looks so much more youthful, and seems to have  boundless energy, and is obviously highly intelligent, creative, and accomplished. However, sadly, it took  four decades for her talent to be fully and widely recognised.     
I missed Bernardine reading her  memoir, "Manifesto", on radio 4 last week, but am keen to listen to it on Sounds.        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.