Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Invention

With my two brothers and I being  < 27 months apart, and with both parents working, there wasn’t much one to one time for any of us with mom. But I do vividly remember her squeezing some in for a game of jacks with me. She was really good at tossing that ball and grabbing those jacks. I managed to get up to three but never all five like her! Even at 84, she put me to shame.

Jacks is a game played about 2000 years ago in ancient Egypt. It was called Knuckles (and still is in places) since it was played with animal knuckles. There’s no invention date or inventor.
One of the earliest documented reports of the game is in the writings of Sophocles around the time of the Trojan War.

I’m super, super grateful to Jensphotos for filling in as host. I took a serious clobber to my noggin on Saturday. The pain is indescribable. Doctor says to stay away from all screens, bright lights, walking/hiking distances or driving (especially when I'm dizzy or my vision is blurred) and no using my cameras. This endeavor was completed 5 minutes at a time on a very dark phone while wearing blue blockers. I hope to host again soon.  Thanks to everyone for their support.

Laurie x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.