Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Saint Crispin's day

I meant to post this yesterday, it being St Crispin's day, but I forgot. Not to worry, better late than never!

Saints Crispin and Crispinian are the Christian patron saints of cobblers, curriers, tanners, and leather workers. They were beheaded during the reign of Diocletian; the date of their execution is given as 25 October 285 or 286.

It is a day famous for the battles that occurred on it, includeing the fall of Lisbon in 1147, the Battle of Balaclava (Charge of the Light Brigade) during the Crimean War in 1854, the Battle of Leyte Gulf in the Pacific theatre in 1944 and most notably the Battle of Agincourt in 1415 when Henry V's army of 6,000 to 9,000 routed a French force of 12,000 to 36,000.

Th great majority of Henry's troops were English and Welsh archers equipped with longbows and it is they who were largely responsible for massacring the French.

When I was in my "prime" I was a keen bowman and this is all an excuse to show one of the trophies that I won!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.